Kendall is here

By kendallishere

The "stimulus package" is working

This is a dull an intriguing* street picture, but I think it matters sometimes to point out when things WORK. We're so good at complaining about what doesn't work. So I went to Powell's again today, and standing outside, waiting for the streetcar, I noticed all these marks on the street, and a temporary toilet, a work truck, some torn-up areas and temporary tarmac: and I realized, wow! This is the Stimulus Package we heard so much about two years ago. It was supposed to cover public works...and it's doing that. When I was there with my camera, the workers weren't in the street. Maybe they work at night. Maybe they work early in the day. I don't know when they work. But all this is indication that somebody has been working, somebody has been marking streets, busting streets up, fixing things. And then, when they knock off, people walk their dogs downtown. It doesn't make me any happier about Afghanistan or environmental degradation due to oil corporations...there's still a lot to complain about. But sometimes something does work. That bears mentioning.

*updated based on comments, for which I thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.