Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Indian Summer

Carys made me promise, after hearing on the weather forecast that it was going to be warm, that she could wear her summer dress. To be fair a number of girls have been wearing them and she has been nagging me for a week or so, but with temperatures up to 27 (supposedly) this week, I could hardly say no. My own fault I guess for being thrifty and buying dresses for summer 2012 in this years sale for £1.50, but don't tell her that incase peer pressure over clothes has already kicked in.

William's behaviour yesterday may now have an explanation. Following a horrendous night, this morning revealed a horrible nappy rash or so I thought. This was followed by little blisters on his hands and soles of his feet, but also on the top of his feet, around his ankles and one on his ear. He has two large ulcers either side of his tongue and that is what I can see when cleaning his teeth, there may well be more. He has already had hand, foot and mouth so we are thinking it is the pox, but you can get the former again so we will have to wait and see. Poor boy he is back to drooling like he was after his op. and he is either happy as Larry or miserable as sin. I may actually have to start calling him 'Sick Note', he is starting to earn the name.

I really hope it isn't the pox, I have wanted Carys to catch it for the last four years, but now I really don't want her to miss school. It is quite ridiculous, bearing in mind she is only four, but I feel that if she misses a week it will be an uphill struggle to catch up. Fingers crossed if she gets it it will be in half term. Is that a bad Mummy thing to say?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.