schlimm

By schlimm

Laellekoenig

As a child I loved to come here. This is the King that sticks out its tongue. It's positioned on the Grossbasel side of the river, the bit where the more prosperous people used to live, the side where the big cathedral is found. The King sticks out its tongue to the people from Kleinbasel who dare to come over the bridge.

This figure is clockwork operated and not only does it stick out its tongue, it also rolls its eyes. I can't wait to show my children, they will love this.

Went here in the morning, wanted to have a wander in Basel (very unusual for me I stayed in the Grossbasel bit, I usually go to Kleinbasel too) and bought some lovely things. I had found a lovely shoeshop last year but never bought any shoes so I bought some this year, couldn't believe the price but treated myself and have decided that they will be my treat for next year's big birthday...

Then it was time to take the train to Bern to meet my friend K (we've known each other since we were 13 and have been good friends since we were 14/15. Today is our class reunion, twenty years after we all finished high school. It was great fun. We got ready together as if it was for one of our parties all these many years ago "should I wear this?" "what about this?" "too posh?" " not casual enough?" Turned out in the end we were pretty normally dressed and everybody else had come in jeans. Despite the 20 years we did not change that much. Yes, of course, a few grey hairs here and there, a bit more kilos here and there but essentially we had changed so much throughout our teenage years that by now the changes had happened and we found each other again in those groups we had formed so many years ago. Funny that. It was lovely and I really enjoyed myself so much that we only got back home by 4.30 in the morning. An after party chat and very little sleep later but it was all worth it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.