Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Porcupine Journals - Day 6

"The quite solitude of this cabin is difficult to awaken from. There are no distractions. No sounds of automobiles, busy flight paths, or other contraptions or machines like a neighbors lawn mower or a ringing cell phone. All there is - the muted sounds of wood thrush singing, the nearby bubbling of the stream, and small cries of arrival and departure at the phoebe nest beside the door. Like a composition in understatement. Or, perhaps in the Japanese style, a haiku.

It makes me wonder - if this rhythm of life is understated, then surely the modern human way of life is often a gross overstatement. An overstatement and neurosis that needs to be un-learned out here in nature. Taught in small measures by wise and ancient teachers.

And so I woke up late and let the cadence of the forest and rhythms of my own body awake at their own speed. I drew out the morning - my favorite time to work. Induglign in simple pleasures in this remote place where they take on new meaning from scarcity. Strong coffee with sugar, bacon and eggs, and the last of my bread. Afterwards I filled pails of water from the stream and washed the dishes outside. Rustic self sufficiency - I am imagining Henry David Thoreau now. My own Walden cabin here in the North Woods.

Later I hiked out to the park visitor center to get ready for my Artist in Residence Presentation that I will be giving this evening. Sherrie had told me there is a famous local musician in town tonight and thinks it might be a small turnout. Bad timing, but its OK. I'm just happy to be here. About 7 people total showed up, including Sherrie, Carol, and Bob the park naturalist. It's a little bit comical, but I'm happy to present to a large or small crowd. All of the other visitors are older locals who I'm told come to all of these events. I wonder why none of the visiting public chooses to come?

I presented on how to Communicate Science DIY style, and then shared some of my recent work and ideas on the Wallacia Project. The presentation went well enough and it seemed like everyone learned something completely new, and of course liked all the photographs. Sherrie and Carol took me home and we chatted in the car. They are both so kind and eager to help and share. They tell me about other AIR . The diversity of people that come here. How they find out about it. How it changes them. And the commonality they share - all leave deeply changed from the experience in positive ways.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.