michigan man

By outdoorguy

Wet, Hungry Moochers

I got up at the crack of 10 a.m. It felt good to sleep in. I let my dogs out, and decided to cook breakfast. Sausage, potatoes, eggs, and toast. A once-a-week treat. I sat down at my table, and realized I wasn't alone. Outside the window were 20-25 sparrows, and 1 cardinal. I got an image of "The Birds" by Alfred Hitchcock.

It was 46 degees out, and raining. It seemed to me that they were pleading for more food. I thought back to my mailman days...and the 35-45 degree days with rain. Those were the worst. Chilled you to the bone. Made you feel sorry for yourself.

I finished my meal, got my shoes on, trudged to the garage, and gave them another half-helping. There was a feeding frenzy...so I got my camera back out, but it was dark outside...and most were blurry. I then went to watch my grandson. I crawled around with him for 2 hours. OOOOHHHH, my aching knees. Thankfully...he took a 2 hour nap. (So did I.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.