Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Porcupine Journals - Day 9

"I'm anxious already. I don't want to, but I have to leave today. All morning I was in a disorganized and anxious mood rushing to do everything at once and consequently failing in any one task. I'm sure you've been there...torn in so many directions. Writing down botanical names of wildflowers, washing dishes, and really wanting to get out and enjoy the day.

I ended up doing a little bit of everything before getting outside finally prevailed. Wandering by the banks of the Little Union River near the cabin finally brought me back to Earth. Vibrant sun beams dappling fern blankets, slick wet rocks fuzzy with moss, and the lovely twinkling music of the stream. All these things were like medicine to a frazzled mind and anxious spirit.

When I arrived back at the cabin I was finally able to sort through the jumble of thoughts and impulses in my head to focus on cleaning. Freeing me from the worry of so many last minute details I finally grabbed my towel and camera for a last swimming hole dip. I was distracted by so many waterfalls along the river - like a thousand diamond rivulets tumbling down. Mmmm, I love it here.

I ran into Curt and his daughter again by the river on the way to look for aquatic insects. I promised to follow but was lulled to sleep almost laying with my shirt on in the warm sun. Basking like a giant lizard on the hot bridge planks. I found them later but not before finding my perfect swimming hole.

A deep, dark pool under big hemlock boughs in a quite spot further down river from my cabin drew me in. It is secluded, a little magical and hidden. And so I stripped down to my bare skin yet again and went in. Skinny dipping mid-day in an icy cool stream was pure refreshment. That pure, fresh feeling I will hold onto for a long time...

I stayed in so long that I couldn't quite warm up for hours after I got out. I boiled two cups of hot tea at the cabin in vain. And so I shivered, so fresh and clean and groped for words to give meaning and insight to my experience here in the Porkies. It took me some time to compose all of my thoughts into the cabin's journal. Mine, the newest entry and the latest testament of this tradition. Artist in residence, artist in nature. Love, respect, and deep gratitude."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.