Colin Parte

By ColinParte

Drip Drip Drip Drip Drip

Sorry to talk about the rain *again* but I was wakened by loud drips at 05:41 this morning, and sleepily thought to myself that it must be really heavy if I can hear the drips on the window sill through our open window. I went back to sleep for a few minutes and woke again to discover rain water coming through our bedroom ceiling at a pace. It appears that the lead flashing around our chimney stack has parted company with the brick and when up in the attic a few minutes later, I could see that one of our roof beams was completely soaked and some of the joists have been running water onto that part of our ceiling which was dripping. Long story short - I couldn't get back to sleep, so off I went into Belfast for some Blipping before starting work at 10:00. A few weeks ago, I was in town around 05:00, which wasn't very far from this spot, and it was just as deserted as this. Normally, you cannot walk in a straight line across here due to people waking in every direction, delivery vans and street theatre!
I has breakfast in this Starbucks, where I was served by the cheeriest, smiliest, most upbeat Starbucks employee ever, and at 09:01 on a Sunday morning! My usual haunt, Caffe Nero, doesn't open until 10:30 on Sundays (for shame, CN!), but I'll be back for more pleasant smiles some other Sunday morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.