Today I fell off my bike

Well it's windy out there and it's messy in here.

I went for a run this morning...............well you know a jog. I only nearly died once this time so it's getting better. Then I got text from my sister reminding me that we'd arranged to meet our friend Sam at the Gallery of Modern Art cafe. They do free tea if you buy a scone before 10am.

Of course I'd forgotten and if I'd remembered then I wouldn't have done my run around the hill, I'd have done the cycle to the gallery instead. But I got in the shower, got out out the shower, got my bike out the shed, hunted around for the bike lock (I did get dressed at some point). I grabbed my keys, phone, £2 and set off on my bike. I knew I'd be late but I'd still see them for a bit.

On my way I touched my brakes and turned slightly to avoid a dip on the path and my bike skidded and in slow motion I fell, landing mainly on my back with my bike on top of me. My first reaction was to scream in anger (I didn't) then it was to cry and go home (I didn't), then I wondered if anyone saw. There was no sign of anyone so I quickly got up and got back on the stupid bike and carried on trying to ignore the sore bits. One of my stupid slip-on plimsoles was full of grit and leaves and I had mud all down one side of me. Distracted I didn't turn right when I meant to and ended up doing a semi circle back onto the road I was trying to avoid. So I cycled on the pavements (which at that part of town nobody walks on).

Finally got there, Hair like a scarecrow from the helmet I'm now glad I was wearing, mud all down my troosers, leaves stuck to my back, a sore back, elbow and leg, and one shoe full of leaves and little sticks.

I had a cup of tea, ate my banana and kitkat (not buying expensive cake), then headed back.

We're all going to do that every Monday morning.

Well I'll try and not forget or fall off my bike.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.