real....or fake?

Knowing your apples is rather more important than knowing your onions at this time of year in Spiziland - though I did meet a man once who had over 400 types of onion in his garden so he REALLY knew his onions!
Anyway, there are two types of Swiss apple that are a beautiful deep red on outside but only one has traces of pink inside and that's the Berner Rose. This apple, when cooked, has a beautiful pink tone in it so it's very nice to make apple jelly with. I made some the other day, mixed with the three quinces the neighbours' children left on my little tree (the rest went in the pond, to the pigs, were used as toys etc etc), my lonesome pear (that tree is just ridiculous) and some rosehips. The resulting jam is beautiful and tastes fantastic. This apple went into a Waldorf salad (made with celeriac), which is my favourite salad at this time of year. Flea made a delicious pizza too, so we are all happy campers now :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.