La vida de Annie

By Annie

Munted leg

My good friend Rosemary took me to my long overdue orthopaedic appointment this morning (I missed the last one as I was busy having a cerebral haemorrhage at the time). The x-ray (heavily photoshopped here to give it a somewhat grisly aspect) showed that although the breaks are still there, new bone is starting to form between them, so I was given the go-ahead to put more weight on the leg - yay!

The kind surgeon said that photographing the x-ray on the computer screen was absolutely against hospital policy, and for that reason he would turn his back so that he would not witness my doing it. The last one I took was sneaked when no-one was in the room.

The larger screw just below the knee is in danger of pushing through the skin, and one of those above the ankle is catching on a ligament and making the joint click when flexed, so both will have to come out at some point, but apart from that the news is good. About time after over 5 months.

Africa is pale maroon today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.