earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Autumn Light and Shade

Better in large, naturally enough.

I've been struggling with an interface design problem all day, as well as this infuriatingly tickly and stubborn cough. I enjoy tackling these design problems far more than programming ones, but this one is proving quite difficult. There are always compromises to be made, balancing ease of use with power of function, and both against the cost of implementation. I always tend towards the best solution for the user without worrying about the technical difficulty and the time it's going to take, but right now I'm up against a tight deadline for Monday. I've been vacillating between two different solutions. I need to just choose one and get on with it. Which is what I will do as soon as I've posted this.

If I have a problem to solve like this I like to ponder it over a walk, and today the sun shone brightly at lunchtime so I headed up to Northcliffe Woods. This is the first time I've been up there since we moved office to Shipley and I hadn't really got my head around how close they are. Can't imagine them looking more spectacular than they did today in the crisp October sunshine. I doubt we will get another day as warm as this until next year. With the forecast rain now arrived I think I can safely say that the Indian Summer is finally over. It was quite wonderful while it lasted. It was great to be able to enjoy a bit of its swansong today.

Once again, I can only reiterate my appreciation of people dropping by to comment while I'm working to this deadline and not really able to reciprocate. Thanks especially to those who gave stars for yesterday's A Brief Coalescence. I did late on add a link to show the flotilla of leaves in context (which is now working after some initial problems) if anyone wants to see the strange phenomenon that led to that blip.

Right ... head down ... a decision to be made ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.