World War I Traveling Gallery

The customized, 18-wheel, "big rig" truck housing the Honoring Our History World War I traveling gallery was parked in the street next to the Lightcatcher building of the Whatcom Museum today. The display honoring all who served in the war is on a tour that will visit 75 cities in the United States by May 2012.

I thought the display was well done, within the limitations imposed by space availability. The only part that I found disappointing was the trench simulation, which had a large TV displaying photos on one side of the trench.

I was surprised to learn that the US did not officially declare an alliance with Britain and France, in order to have the option to independently negotiate terms of a peace settlement.

You can learn more about the exhibit here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.