Old Faithful

We used this espresso machine for about eight years. C didn't like the spacey designs and she said it took up too much precious counter space in the new house , but she did like the coffee. I replaced it with a more subdued, smaller model a couple of years ago and packed it away in the attic over the garage.

I got the old machine out a couple of days ago to see if it still worked before deciding how to dispose of it. I had vague memories of it leaking slightly. There's a charge for recycling electrical appliances these days, so I was hoping it would work well enough to be of use to somebody. It wouldn't be practical to send it away for servicing -- it weighs 34 lb/15 kilos in the box so shipping costs alone would be substantial.

I filled the water tank, put some coffee beans in the hopper, plugged it in, and made a couple of perfectly good cups of coffee -- no leaks. I haven't tried using the steam function yet. That will be the critical test for the boiler.

I'm hoping somebody with plenty of counter space and a liking for modern art will give this old thing a good home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.