WELLS-NEXT-THE-SEA

Over the years I have seen so many photographs and paintings of these beach huts, but they did not disappoint when I finally got to see them for myself. The sand was lapping round the blue and yellow hut, and many had been recently rescued from the encroaching sand and re-stilted, though a couple of them looked as though they had been abandoned to their fate. We met a lady you was touching up the paintwork on her hut, and her dog Digger, who promptly dug a large hole in the sand to prove the point. When we learnt how much money changes hands for the beach huts we were astounded. A campervan would be a lot cheaper, moveable, and not about to be swallowed up by the beach. I'll add that to my why-we-would-like-a-campervan list.

As well as walking the beach at Wells, which was nowhere near the sea at all, we were also blown across the desert at Holkham beach, where the sea was even further out. I'm not yet sure why the villages here have next-the-sea tagged to their names. Perhaps I keep missing the tide.

Okay, I had my night off last night, so I'm off to cook dinner, or tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.