For the family

By RonaMac

A time of transition !!

Flowers and cards of appreciation from my colleagues.

I have finally retired from the NHS after 48 years. The last 24 years in a speciality using all the skills and knowledge gained in the first 24 years and developing more!!

I wasn't sure how I would feel, but as I have retired by degrees, it's OK. Full time, to 3 days a week, to 10 hours a week, over a number of years, has given me time to develop other interests and to work part time for a charity using all the skills and knowledge gained over the NHS years.

So I won't be sitting twiddling my thumbs or feeling lost!!

I will miss the staff as they are a great crowd and work extremely hard, often under difficult circumstances. But I have left the service (my service, which I set up from scratch) in good hands, which will be supported by another two pair of hands when their owners return from maternity leave. How safe the service will be in the long term with all the NHS cuts I don't know, but we can only hope. I will not be in a position to fight for it or have any influence, so have to move on forward and not look back!!

At some point in time it will probably dawn on me that I don't have to collect coins for the meter and be concerned about the roads in winter weather, but at present it is just like have time off for holiday (a touch of denial).

Although I don't normally go on holiday with all the work up to date and nothing outstanding!!

I now need to do a grand clear up at home and get rid of most of the "stuff" I have saved over the years, just in case it was needed!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.