stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Flags of the World ~ Cool Britannia

A long, hellish day today! I'm a bit cream crackered tonight. I'll try and look in on everyone tonight but I might have to catch up tomorrow. Soz!

Didn't get back home until the back of eight tonight. I've got a bad feeling about this weekend...

Still my humour was restored a little when I overheard a little of the turf war going on outside the flat from the resident "can you get me fags from the shop mister" 8-year olds.

Translated to the Queen's English for the benifit of the wider audience (and cleaned up for family viewing)!

"I've got better clothes than you!"

"No you don't!"

"Wanna bet! I've got about 12 pairs of joggies!"

"Well..so..what.. I've got about 15 pairs of joggies!"


Just right! Not too flash and not too much of an exaggerated claim. I had a feeling it wasn't going to end there so I quickly dashed through the front door before anyone asked me if I had a light!

Tonight was a request and a challenge. Vic requested and after confirming with Mr D today that he was happy with the change of continent, he said he didn't think it could be done. That's fightin' talk where I come fae!

So here it it, in all (well nearly - I think I'm going to have to change this series to Half the Flags of the World) its pomp and ceremony, the Union Flag.

I always wondered why there was no Welsh representation with this, but Google reliably informs me it was because the Principality was integrated into the Kingdom of England well before the 1707 Union between Scotland for which the flag was created. Originally the St. Andrews flag of Scotland was the prominent element (I assume James VI insisted) but resentment brewed south of the border with this demeaning loss of status so when it was demoted in favour of the cross of St. George... well you can tell where this is leading! As a result for a while there were two versions, one for England and one for Scotland (much like the Royal Standard today with two quadrants containing the lion rampant in Scotland, while the English "three lions" is displayed everywhere else). The flag of St. Patrick was added in 1801 with the Union of Great Britain and Ireland.

If I get a chance I'll try and make things up to our Welsh compatriot's tomorrow. Something for the weekend and the RWC semi's. God knows how I'm going to make a dragon, so you might have to settle for a daffodil or a leek! Don't hold your breath!!!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.