Through Jo's Lens

By Jo8lens

Fly Away Home

I have a love/hate relationship with ladybirds. It all stems from when I was in primary school. I felt something in my shoe and when I removed my shoe to inspect what it was, I was horrified to discover that it was a squashed ladybird! It stained my horrible white school socks. I can remember the socks having the orange stain even after being washed numerous times. I had the death of that ladybird on my conscience for quite some time. They also freak me out when they fly because it's unexpected! I like the look of them though.

A little while ago, I mentioned in my Blip about having toads in the garden and a fellow blipper, TrishaB, said that the worse thing with toads in the garden was slaughtering them with a mower...I've never done that, I thought, smugly, well...today I did. I am very sorry, Mr Toad. I heard the mower hit something so stopped and was horrified to see a toad, bleeding, and lying on its back. It made me feel ill. I finished off the garden, thinking that I would have to get the toad onto a spade and into the bin. When I went to sort it out, it had jumped the right way up. Then it jumped under the hedge. I don't know if that was a good or bad thing, I can just imagine it suffering a horrible, slow, death. I do feel very sad for the toad. Sorry!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.