michigan man

By outdoorguy

The Lobby

This is the lobby of the hospital where I take my doctor to see his patients. I arrived a little early...so I decided to have breakfast. My choices were Subway and Subway.

A breakfast sandwich was $ 2.59. I reached for my wallet. A single dollar bill. I reached in for my change. A quarter. Let's see...$ 2.59 - $ 1.25 =$ 1.34. $ 1.34 short. A light went off in my head, and I headed to the small waterfall.

The bottom of the 10-12 foot area was littered with coins. There was a lot of copper (pennies) showing, but there was also a lot of silver. I glanced around for Security, and saw only a couple of volunteers directing people. Both gentlemen were on the older side...so, I figured I could take them.

I quickly took off my shoes and socks, and formed a fast plan. I didn't see many quarters, so I was going to go for the dimes. I needed 14, maybe 15... to cover the tax. I would avoid nickles since I don't like them, and size-wise they look too much like quarters.

Over the edge and into the drink. OOOHHH...that water is cold. I looked down for the dimes. One of the older gentlemen approached. "Excuse me, Sir..I don't think you are supposed to be in there." "I didn't see a sign warning me to stay out of the water...so I think I'm ok." "Sir...I don't think..." "Are you security?" "No, I'm a volunteer." "Then...WHY DON'T YOU VOLUNTEER TO RETURN TO YOUR POST!!!"

I got my 15 dimes...let my feet dry and warm up...and the sandwich was delicious. ( Of course I didn't do that...but does it count for anything...that I've always wanted to?)

Another day of constant rain. I went to the river to photograph some birds...but felt too odd walking around under my Russell Stover umbrella. Enough rain. 2 days ago...I did buy 6 of the mums that are in the picture. Great big flowers. They really smelled up my van.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.