Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Blippable Cats

I didn't want to turn in without posting a blip (having skipped yesterday), so I turned to my most available subjects: the two creatures who more or less live on top of me. They are Laura Earle (L) and Carlo. She insists on using him as a toy, just as he insists that I am his couch. That's why I served as the stage for this performance.

Otherwise I watched the extremely fine and important film The Laramie Project, which is so powerful that I have to blush at taking this long before watching it. It's as important to human rights as any film I've ever seen. I worked as a documentary film researcher for a couple of years, and I know what a huge amount of work was involved in its making. They probably spent 10-20 times the typical amount of time doing it, and that only because they understood how important it was to properly examine the murder of Matthew Shepard, how it changed a town forever, and became a catalyst for the federal Hate Crimes Prevention Act. If you haven't seen it, see it. If you don't have any cats, take one of mine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.