Skyline

I took this picture on my way into town, intending to collect a blip at the Occupy Philly encampment. For some reason, this very familiar sight is more to my liking than any from the demonstration.

That said, the Occupation is not only growing, but it is lasting as well. If this were a strike, even in a critical industry, the picket lines would be getting thin and strained by now. It's day 15 here, longer since in New York, and it's the constant talk of every Media outlet, spreading everywhere. Every time I go to City Hall there are many more tents. The city has evidently balked on its mild harassment of the camp (they were making petty demands for a while citing sanitation, safety, fire & access codes). The current administration is less belligerent than some in my memory, but many activists have been cautioning that "the cops are not our friends." It's important, I believe, for occupyers to understand the standing they/we have earned. It's a huge movement already, nothing outrageous is being said or done, and no one important fails to take it seriously. Also it seems to me that all this direct criticism of Capitalism itself was figured out and agreed upon hundreds of years ago. Something must replace it that has not been tried on a mass scale before.

As for the skyline, this is a view from the South Street Bridge looking North. The bridge was replaced & re-opened less than a year ago when I was a new blipper, after two years under construction. I love the Schuylkill River and I have a liking for the two tall building with the eyes on top. You could thread them together, with a long enough needle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.