Live/Love/Smile

By Shonie

Tea and Taxes

Council Tax - The biggest pain in my bootylicious ass!

When I became unwell at the beginning of the year (i.e had a bit of a mini breakdown) I had to temporarily withdraw from uni. This meant I was then stumped with council tax in my stupidly overpriced and over-banded flat. The banding's start with A being the cheapest right the way through to G; I was E. When I was a full time student I hadn't even thought about it and had planned to move somewhere cheaper (perhaps not even Dundee) upon graduating. So, basically my incomings then suddenly did not even remotely match up to my increased outgoings...this meant I was entitled to some help from my lovely local council. My friend from home who is nurse managed to get a transfer and moved in for a while before moving in with her man. I have now also moved in with my man but have been stumped with a 'you were overpaid bill' adding up to a eye watering total of - £290! Ha!
So every spare penny I have has been going in this pot and I now am only short £66. This makes me super happy :)
I am sick of green council letters saying 're-calculation' and the price creeping up... so when this is paid I have warned the Dundee city council that without trying to sound rude - they can go kiss my ass!

S x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.