In The Occupied Territory

By FinHall

Chim Chimney..

Chimichuri.
And in case anybody doesn't know what I am on about, it has nothing to do with Mary Poppins, this is what I spent part of this atrocious, windy, rainy day making.
It is called chimichurri, and it is basically a parsley and garlic sauce. It can be used as a marinade or a dip, for grilled meat. But I also use it with chicken and in salads and sandwiches. Try it with burgers. Mmmmmmmmmm!
It originally comes from Argentina, and I got this recipe from my Argentinian buddy, Lois.
There are slightly different ways for making this, but simply is best. Mine's is a slight variant from his also, and I will not tell you the way we make it.

There are various fanciful etymologies for the word. One story claims that it comes from 'Jimmy McCurry', an Irishman who is said to have first prepared the sauce. He was marching with the troops of General Belgrano in the 19th century, sympathetic to the cause of Argentine independence. The sauce was popular and the recipe was passed on. However, 'Jimmy McCurry' was difficult for the native people to say. Some sources claim Jimmy's sauce's name was corrupted to 'chimichurri', while others say it was changed in his honor.
Other similar stories involve Jimmy Curry, an English meat importer; a Scot, James C. Hurray, travelling with gauchos; and an English family in Patagonia overheard by the group of Argentinians that were with them while saying "give me the curry". All the stories share an English speaking colonist and the corruption of names or words by the local population.
The Argentine gourmet Miguel Brascó claims that the word chimichurri originated when the British were captured after England tried to invade the Spanish colony of Argentina. The prisoners asked for condiment for their food mixing English, aboriginal and Spanish (castilian) words. Che-mi-curry stands for "che mi salsa" (dame condimento) or "give me curry". Later "che-mi-curry" corrupted to chimichurri.
Either way, it is great.
Cafe 52 in The Green, in Aberdeen, was the recipient of several Kilner jars of my last batch of home-made chimichuree. I ado not know if they still have some. But kept in the right conditions, in the fridge, it will keep for months and months, just needing a stir every time it is used.
Anyway, I hope today's musical link works, as for some reason yesterdays didn't; and it is not quite the version that we are all familiar with either.
Next I will be making my Nutty, Coffee, Chocolate ice cream topping, but not today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.