Before the Crowing of the Cock

An extra early blip almost before the cock crowed this morning.

His Lordship and I are on the road today to pay a flying visit to daughter #5 in Shipley.

It's a longish journey and not a pleasant one once we hit the A74 and the M6.
It improves once we turn off on to the A95 through North Yorkshire.

I am the navigator for the journey, so I have my map at the ready. Our lady of the GPS was stolen a few years ago, a not unwelcome event for his Lordship, given his relief at not having to listen to two women telling him what to do.

If I have any free time this evening, I can let you know how many times I raised my voice during the journey and how many expletives issued from the mouth of the driver.
People with bus passes should know better, but unfortunately they don't.

Edit: The trip down was uneventful and there was no shouting and no expletives.
His Lordship thinks he looks like Quasimodo after straining his neck this way and that to avoid the sun's glare all the way south.

We passed through ms Gable's land , and beautiful it was looking in the sunshine.
Places like Settle, Hellifield, Gargrave, Skipton, Keighley, Bingley and lastly Shipley: all of them looking lovely and autumny.

We wandered into Saltaire and a coffee stop before admiring the Leeds Liverpool canal and then eventually reaching daughter#5's house and the grandchildren.

They are so welcoming and well behaved. Ralph was told that his Lordship whom he hasn't seen very often if at all, looked like a thin Santa Claus. I expect the poor kid was expecting a sack of toys to arrive with some reindeer.

Now we are at the G&T stage while the bathing is taking place. My role will be to read a bedtime story to Ralph before dinner.
Being a grandmother has its advantages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.