Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Whooo and other nonsense

I'm not a fan of Halloween but I bloody love pumpkins, butternut squash and all the other coloured squash that are around at this time of year. I also love candles, the colour orange, I love autumn and I love chocolate. So I think I can salvage something from this daft nonsense. But I do think it's a big shame that pumpkins will get overlooked again, by the vast majority of people in the UK, after next week.

Richard and I hate dressing up - other than putting on a clean t-shirt if it's someone's birthday and I'm not fond of the way we keep borrowing everything from over the pond - as if they somehow do things better over there. I recently read something about how Halloween used to be and it's a shame we've lost that. Maybe I'll dig it out and share it on Monday.

So this photo is not a celebration of Halloween. It's a celebration of autumn, of lovely orange pumpkins, candles and our daughter's carving skills.

Today we planted spring bulbs, I finalised the VAT (I thought I already had, but found some cash invoices), and it rained.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.