Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Been there, dune that

'Weeeeeeeeee!' said Tess.

I started the day trying to write a flash fiction. I got an idea (by asking for a prompt word on Twitter) I found it was immediately a comedy and I liked where my head was going so started it but found I wasn't going to fit it into flash length easily so stopped.
It's not a necessity that I write a flash fiction every Friday but... well... I feel like I must! So I will try to finish it.

Richard worked half a day and the sun was shining. Good combination!
So I ditched my story and we went to the beach and spent a couple of hours getting some steam out of the dog, who at 7 months has an energy which is only matched by our 6-year-old's.

It was also good to know that the older kids were doing things that made them happy too: the 16-year-old was shopping with a friend in Exeter and the 14-year-old was throwing himself off bouncy wet slides at the Ultimate Wipeout assault course in Bideford.
Many people have commented how it must have been easier having older children when Tess was born but it's actually been very tricky for us, especially as we not-so-conveniently had girl, boy, girl, and they're all very different and have different needs, wants and tastes.

Anyway... I think we were all content today and Joel (the 14-year-old) didn't hurt himself too badly... For a change... Phew.

All chickens safely cooped up back where they belong now and a memory of a lovely sunny beach and a new friend for the dog to dream about.

Tess chose this pic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.