life in 4x6

By macdoughnut

Tactile

Day 396

Rotorua to Lake Taupo

There is something about Maori art that asks to be touched. It is an art form that goes beyond visual appreciation to tactile appreciation. From wood carving, to flax weaving, so Green Stone carving.

Today, somewhere over Lake Taupo at 15,000ft, I jumped (well was pushed) out of a tiny plane and plummeted towards the ground! It is the most mental experience! I wasn't that nervous, I think because I just couldn't believe what I was about to do! For the first 5 seconds of freefall your just in sensory overload! You haven't got a clue which way is up or down. All you know is you're falling very fast. And then your guts and your brain catches up, and it feels amazing! Like your floating. But really your falling at about 120mph...mental eh! And then after a minute of freefall, the chute is opened and your gracefully spin back to earth. Just amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.