It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

"I used to be quite good"

It's good to capture an important moment in someone's life, and although I got some better pictures today, I thought I'd use this one of Rob Hayles. It wasn't only the start of a tough ride up Long Hill in the National Hill Climb Champs for him but the beginning of the end of a pretty darn good career as a pro rider. He's won quite a few medals at Olympic level, the world Madison champs in 2005 and rode for Cofidis for a few years. Nae bad! Quoting his words to the time keeper: "I used to be quite good".

We both share a love for coffee; I once gave him a lecture about not buying his beans in bulk and then freezing them. Diamond geezer he is though!

The race itself was a 4.4 mile climb up Long Hill from Whaley Bridge in Derbyshire. I rode up it on the cross-bike with panniers! There used to be a day when I'd only attend a race to spectate on my best bike but functionality and common sense is becoming more important. I had several spare jackets, a woolly hat (albeit a cool merino wool Giro one) and my camera. The climb it's self isn't too bad, I think on average 3.4% but there were a few 15-20%ers getting there and back. On the way home the one at Marple Bridge felt particularly tough.

It was good to see James and Olly from the office. I bumped in and gave abuse to Gregor Russell from Velo Ecosse for being miserable! In some ways he's the Ian Beale of the cycling world (he sold me a cross bike and put ice tyres on the thing....that I said I specifically wanted for commuting...it was August). However, he's incredibly generous towards young and talented riders, ensuring they have top of the range bikes/wheels to race on and expenses to get to them. Chapeau!

Anyway, quite an eventful day ending in a rather wonderful curry from the Raj Gourmet in Glossop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.