Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Trick or Treat, and Oyster Ale

It's Halloween again. Because our street is a cul de sac, it's a very safe place for trick-or-treaters, and we get a lot of kids here. It's fun seeing the different costumes, but it's impossible to sit down and enjoy dinner, so we decided to have a good lunch at the The Copper Hog for our main meal of the day. Dinner was a peanut butter sandwich eaten standing at the kitchen counter.

I took Miss Annie out for a short walk at the peak of the activity and met a guy pulling a cooler on wheels. He asked if I would like a treat, and when I asked what he had, he offered me this. A treat indeed.

Now back to the Copper Hog and the Oyster Ale. Some of you may already know that I am rather partial to beer and oysters, and sometimes enjoy them together, but today was a different kind of pairing. The beer was Oyster Strong Ale by Burnside Brewing in Portland. Copious quantities of oyster liquor and lemon peel are added during the brewing. I was very dubious when our knowledgeable waiter told me about this, but couldn't resist the opportunity to try it and asked for a sample. It was delicious and I enjoyed a pint with my steak frites.

We had a wonderful lunch. C's description in her blip is better than anything I could write -- she is indisputably the food expert.

We're already making plans for another beer pilgrimage to Portland in April and have added Burnside Brewing to our itinerary.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.