Thistle Down

By Ethel

Desert Flower

You are there...Desert Flower,
To dot the sun-dry sheen.
But I am here...and lonely,
With miles and miles between.

All my heart is aching,
For that which it knew before.
With a flame so brightly burning,
As I see you there once more.

My eyes are in their gazing,
Remembering you fresh from the tomb.
Seeing your magic...in splendor,
And arrayed so lovely...in bloom.

The velvety touch of your petals,
Hued-deeply with finest of art.
Stirring often my hidden-feelings,
With traces that cling to my heart.

Just to know you are there,
With blooms...so quietly unseen.
Awakening this urge in my bosom,
To gaze once more...on the desert green.

Knowing it is your utmost desire,
To unfold...in this mortal birth.
And to add your presence here,
To glorify this life...on earth.

Is it enough to enlarge in the purpose,
Of that creator's plan.
Which is resembled very closely,
To those of ...living man.

O soul of mine...entrusted here,
Be thou calm...do not lament.
Just keep in mind...the desert-flower,
And forever be content.


E.P. 1908 - 1989

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.