Diver Driver

By diverdriver

A Must. A challenge.

Have I mentioned that I have been reading this amazing book in the last week or so?

If not, I'm doing so now, and I suggest that everybody should read it. It is powerful.

It was recommended by my good friend Kristi in Zambia and, after a little difficulty finding a copy, I have been reluctant to put it down.

It is written by Dr Wess Stafford and tackles the plight of children in the world and how, with a correct perspective on their importance rather than just treating them like second class citizens or worse, we could tackle many, if not all of the world's major problems. (This happens to be the motivation and conviction behind the charity Bananablip is working for in Zambia - School Mission)

I could quote all night, but that would spoil the book for you. But let me just give you one short example of what he is saying.

"What if every child was immunised against all known childhood diseases? We can do this - if we care. Take measles as just one example. The WHO reported that 745,000 children died of this disease in 2001 and the total cost to vaccinate them would have been in the region of $558,750.
Americans spend FIVE times that amount on chewing gum EVERY day of the year! It's all a matter of priorities."

I got my copy from Amazon second hand books. The ISBN is 971-1-4000-7392-4.

Get a copy, read it and pass it on. You will not regret it and together we could make a difference!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.