Northsea

By Northsea

Orion above the rocks of Goreme

This picture was taken in th early hours of the morning from th eroof of the cave hotel I was staying in last night. It was bitterly cold and everyone had gone to bed and I was marvelling at the rck formations and the stars in the clear sky when I noticed Orion and grabbed the camera.
It had been a great day touring the caves and this topped it off. Unfortunately when I woke early hoping to photograph the balloons over the valley it had clouded up and I had missed them. Today was a long drive in the rain to Gazientep near the Syrian border. The rain made driving very tricky and there were a number of trucks that had over turned. One notable one was a larger HGV trailer in the middle of the motorway which was on fire. The cab had left it behind and just put some cones around it. It was worrying how little attention people were paying it. I guess health and safety and closing motorways doesn't happen here.

I suspect I won't be able to update for a few days as there won't be the free wifi in Syria. I did manage some shots of the town I am in this eve. Will try to catch up in the next country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.