Mission

to the moon.

Or rather to capture the moon, through the scope, at the different phases throughout the lunar cycle.

There's a plan afoot to get each of the phases along with a full moon, to then use to create a monster collage - full moon in the middle, with the phases around the outside - this is then (if it works!) going to be upscaled and printed on a significant size poster and put up in the Science faculty in school...probably on the corridors.

So when there was a break in the clouds tonight I really put myself to the test. On average, my setup time for the scope is about twenty minutes from carrying it out from the shed to getting it aligned on the item of my choice.

Tonight - 10 minutes start to finish AND perfect polar alignment that let me track the moon, and subsequently Jupiter, perfectly. Also managed a section of Pleiades at decent magnification before the clouds came.

Proper chuffed.

Am tired, but not as tired as my beloved who got up at 4.30am, drove to Milton Keynes and was then made to wait until early afternoon to collect the items he had gone for...he is shattered now. Early night all round and I am very grateful that it was only a partial week back at work!

Can I also recommend the new Florence and the Machine album - I'm on my 6th listen in 2 days and it's becoming quite anthemic particularly Shake it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.