The toad

Cracking morning and dog walking delegated to eco son. I popped out to do some dawn shopping.

After shopping I headed to the allotment, it was a wee frost pocket and I was the only one there.

I dug the last of the tatties up, got all my potted herbs and plants and buried in the soil to protect them from the winter cold. The robin popped down and I fed it dockin grubs.

Back home and we were out for a pizza and bowling with the football team for an end of season celebration. Adults were banned so the parents chatted.

Tea made and now the ironing, at least I will get peace with the radio.

When I was young I caught a taod at Craiglockhart pond that only had 3.5 legs, part of one of it's back leg was missing. The only box I could find had fragile on it, so it was named. I kept the toad in a tank by my bed for about a year.

I fed it worms and slugs, eventually I released fragile back into the pond.

At primary school I won a prize for my essay on Fragile and how it came to get part of it's back leg missing.

So this sign on the van window made me smile, I could not see any toads on board.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.