Slow motion

I have been lurking around one particular trail in the Holden Arboretum for the past week, trying to capture a blip of one of the black squirrels I spotted on a day when I didn't have my squirrel-blipping lens with me. Today was the day I finally caught up with one of them. Even though it isn't the greatest picture, I am pretty chuffed about it.

Ten black squirrels were imported to this part of Ohio in 1961. According to Wikipedia they were brought to Kent by biologist Ralph W. Dexter to study whether they would upset the ecosystem of Northeast Ohio. As a result, the city of Kent developed a significant black squirrel population .

Today I blipped this black squirrel at the Arboretum, about 30 miles northeast of Kent. They are slowly migrating northward, but since it is another 10 miles north to our backyard, I don't expect to see them climbing our trees any time soon. After all, it has taken them over 50 years to move 30 miles or so from Kent to Holden. That's slow motion!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.