Doe Bay Garden

Luke yelled something funny, inappropriate and overwhelmingly endearing from the ferry deck as the big boat pulled away from shore taking him back to the mainland. I'm staying to spend a few weeks here in the San Juan's...

I've arranged a farm stay opportunity at a wonderful place called Doe Bay on the far side of Orcas Island. Doe Bay is a funky, hippie resort-retreat on Orcas. It is really one of a kind and a hub for all the eclectic people and happenings on the San Juan's. It has been around for years and weathered different owners, times and ideas. Today it is undergoing a sort of renaissance with a world class locally sourced cafe, farm to table program, and increasingly famous summer music festival. I've been invited to stay for a few weeks to volunteer and learn. In exchange for a modest place to stay and a stipend in their fantastic cafe I get to do what I love to do anyway, help out in the garden.

I met a gypsy hippie kid barefoot with a banjo on the ferry and we talked about philosophy. I hitchhiked a ride half way across the island with a bartender at the Madrone who insisted on buying me a beer. Then an old-time gave me a ride in his truck to Moran State Park just before dark. And finally a young hippie drove me the rest of the way in his funky VW bus. After such an adventure I splurged on a bowl of steamed clams in their cafe and tried to get my bearings. As far as first impressions go I think I'm going to like this place!

Sorry, limited photo selections since no camera for a bit. I snapped this shot with a friend's SLR here of the Doe Bay garden where I worked most afternoons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.