Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

1000 Blips on Sandfly Bay!

"Life is what happens when you're busy making other plans." Since I started doing blip almost three years ago boy have I been making a lot of plans. Along the way lots has happened. I'm talking literal journeys around the world, and figurative journeys within. Both are captured here on my blip journal and I'm so happy for that.

I'll leave you with this image from Sandfly Bay on New Zealand's Otago Peninsula where I camped out for the night. And I'll leave you with this beautiful poem that reminds me to look back from where I've been from time to time. To sit, and feast on my life.

Many thanks, and cheers to 1000 blips!
Jesse

*************
Love After Love

"The time will come
when, with elation
you will greet yourself arriving
at your own door, in your own mirror
and each will smile at the other's welcome,
and say, sit here. Eat
You will love again the stranger who was your self.
Give wine. Give bread. Give back your heart.
to itself, to the stranger who has loved you.
All your life, whom you ignored
for another, who knows you by heart.
Take down the love letters from the bookshelf,
the photographs, the desperate notes,
peel your own image from the mirror.
Sit. Feast on your life.

~ Derek Walcot, 1976

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.