Backpack TopherHack

By TopherHack

Green with Envy

On many of the footpaths of downtown Gwangju, and indeed the city as a whole, you will find large metal boxes that I presume house some kind of electrical mumbo jumbo.
They're pretty ugly things and so the council often tries to jazz them up with giant stickers. The standard seems always to be some kind of generic scene of nature. The mountains around Gwangju, trees or lakes, that kind of thing.
For me, showing a reminder that I'm not stood by a crystal clear lake, but am in fact waiting at a bus stop in a loud, busy city centre, K-Pop screeching in my right ear, car horns blasting in my left, just makes the whole thing look worse.
Add to that the fact that the pictures quickly get covered in a thin film of grime caused by all the car and bus fumes, and I would argue you've got yourself a bad idea.

The monster pictured above though, is an exception to the rule. Here they've hidden the box in plain sight, diguising it as a garish green monster. I love it, and think it's way more effective than the misjudged scenery-style attempts that are normally used.
Alas, as far as I'm aware this is the only one of its kind in the city (I could well be wrong though). It's slap bang outside a very funky coffee shop, and I have a sneaking suspicion the shop's owner may have decorated it himself.

I'd love to see a range of these scattered throughout the downtown area, perhaps commissioning local artists to each design a creature of their own.
Definitely a step up from those dotted around my neighbourhood - currently adorned with photos of fields, solar panels and wind turbines.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.