Mostly Joy, a little sadness

I have had the joy of wandering around school for the first half of the day, taking in the activities that our students are engaging in, with the russian students and staff, and with visiting students and staff from another high school in Manchester.

This wonderful lady is a gospel singer, and member of staff from the high school in Manchester. I spent a lot of time in the room with her and the students, just feeding off the raw energy that she exuded, the enthusiasm that she inspired in all of the students and absolute beauty of her voice. She is so humble, so unassuming to speak to, but when she sings, man oh man, it caused goosebumps, a lump in my throat, tears in my eyes and a joy in my heart that I just cannot explain. I was filled with music for much of the rest of the morning.

The afternoon left something to be desired in terms of troubleshooting ...problems needing resolution, colleagues to support and upon getting home a very sad phonecall to James, from his Dad, to say that James' grandad had passed away on Sunday night. I know James is feeling the loss, but he is putting on a brave face - I'm going to have to keep a close eye.

My beloved is home. It is time for snuggles and wine on the sofa.

Night all
xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.