Vive la Vie

By gillybxl

Stress

Last week we had a whole staff meeting and it irritated me listening to all the complaints from staff regarding the new building that they are working in and how stressed they are. They complained about the size of their classrooms (they're too small apparently), the noise the students make and even the chairs that they sit on. I think the building is pretty impressive as it's very modern and is really centered on maximising student learning.

The majority of the staff don't seem to realise how lucky they are or have clearly never worked anywhere else.

Last week I had to fall from the top of the climbing wall to demonstrate to the students the safety technique when belaying. I was nervous. Actually I was really nervous as I haven't done any real climbing since I was 14 years old. I was shaking as the climbing 'expert' told me to jump. In front of a mixed class of 15 and 16 year olds.

Now that is stress!

I tried to get some shots of the wall today but the lighting is rubbish. I played around with the white balance, but couldn't get the shot that I wanted, so the above blip is of the ladder near the wall that I climbed.

On another note, my son cried when I picked him up from the creche today as he was busy playing and wasn't ready to leave. It's taken us 4 months to get him settled (he cries nearly all the time when we drop him off) and now he doesn't want to leave. Great. I also found my first grey hair recently. Double great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.