my eyes they cannot lie

By girlsonfilm

Attachments

One of my favourite paintings is from a set of abstract art called Attachments. I took it off the wall tonight to look at the artist's label on the back and had an American Psycho moment.

When Patrick Bateman is told by Bethany* that his objet-d'art, his David Onica painting, is hung upside down on his living room wall.

According to the label, my painting is upside down. But to me it's a man with a woman holding him from behind, her hand under his neck.

I did put it the 'right' way up and stared at it for a bit. The set of paintings it belongs to are VERY abstract so now I'm wondering if I am seeing something that the artist didn't put there.

When I talked with Tonie about some of her other paintings I told her I had the one of the woman holding a child to her breast. She looked at me a tad confused, touched my arm and said 'We all see different things there' SHE MEANT "Kate, I have NEVER painted that picture"

So, it's hung upside down, it's wrong but it's right.

So dispatch me.

*Bethany was dispatched. Well, in Patrick's mind anyway.

"Attachment is the great fabricator of illusions; reality can be obtained only by someone who is detached. "

Simone Weil

[Simone never lies]

Painting
Attachments: Where does the Man come in? by Tonie Rigby

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.