The Corner of Your Heart

By LifeInEveryWord

Relay For Life...sorta

Every year, our community holds Relay for Life, an overnight event to benefit the American Cancer Society
Unfortunately, there were intense thunderstorms and the event had to be cancelled after three hours
So, unfortunately, I didn't have much time to capture a fantastic picture
This is just a shot of a man playing the bagpipes in memory of those lost to cancer
It's unfortunate, because the event has such a meaning to me that not many people know.

A few weeks before my twelfth birthday, my father sat me down on the couch
His expression looked grim and his eyes were tired.
My mother had been in the hospital for a few days now because of an pneumonia, but that was nothing new
I just figured she'd be back in a few days like she always was
But then my dad broke the news to me
After several tests, it was discovered that my mom had colon cancer
I didn't know what to think about it. I was too young. But my eighteen year old sister was crying so I knew that I should be scared.
I was angry
I was convinced that my mom had brought this on herself somehow
By being overweight, by eating the wrong things, by not going to the doctor enough...
I know now that this is not true
I have no clue what kind of treatment she went through
A couple surgeries, a few medications...
I just know that she was lucky enough to not have to go through chemotherapy
And six months later, she was told that she should be fine
It has been five and a half years since my mother was diagnosed
And we still live one checkup at a time
Because we know that it could come back
That's what happened with my teacher, my mentor, and my friend, Sandi Vanderpool
Who is now battling cancer for the second time
And who joined us at the survivor's dinner yesterday
To celebrate life, honor those we have lost, and remember that we are not the only families who have been touched

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.