Year Three

By RobotChicken

Best device ever

This is my electricity finder. It tells me whether I'm about to electrocute myself, which is good. Hate working on electrics at the best of time, so this is a nice device to tell you if you really are about to make a bad choice.

And today it did a good job even if I did blow the new receptacle. It would appear that my ground touched something and went bang. After carefully working out what was live and what wasn't meant to be live, and discovering that my other tester wasn't actually destroyed, I fixed the problem.

I now have a working outside porch socket.

Reading up on house electrics is always amazing. You watch videos of people changing receptacles, and then you read the comments below "you need to be a professional to do this" "someone could kill themselves" "I spent 5 years learning this stuff....", and so forth.

Look, it's really simple - there are two bad wires, black and white, and a ground wire which isn't so bad. Just make sure you get everything round the right way and things don't go bang. Check and double check.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.