East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Woodford Island trawler wharfs

.... and dodgy wharfs they are! Woodford Island is an island in the Clarence River, quite large with a number of cane farms and residences on it. It's not the blip I intended though, as I was on the island to get a photo of the Osprey nest that I had previously seen there. These birds have declined in numbers since European settlement and in the 1970's the birds were listed as a vunerable and rare fauna. Since then National Parks and Wildlife Services have erected a number of artifical nesting poles or platforms along the East Coast and there are quite a few in our area. I had taken this shot of the river before I got to the nest site and when I got to the nest there was an Osprey guarding it - I was so suprised and excited to see the bird there that I just started snapping madly before it could take off. Hence the photos are not good. I also was stopped on a nasty bend in the narrow road and in long grass nearly up to my knees so I was a bit worried about snakes as well, and not really concentrating on the camera. On days like this, when there is a rare chance to get an Osprey actually at the nest, I get really annoyed that I don't know what I'm doing.
Well that's my rant for the day or probably the month.
I will go back and try and do better though!
I have added a link to one of the Osprey photos - I have tried to get some light into it but I'm not happy with it. I think there must have been eggs or chicks in the nest because he/she got very agitated when I got out of the car and it started making a lot of noise and then flew of and circled back around a few times before landing and then taking off again.
Osprey guarding nest

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.