Writer's Block

By writersblock

A lot to be thankful for

Today is Thanksgiving and this year there is so much to be thankful for, namely the health of all my family members.

This was brought home particularly clear when we learned that our good friend Ryan's sister-in-law suffered a brain aneurism on Tuesday. She is alive but in the hospital, just out of surgery to remove a piece of get skull to reduce brain swelling. She is only 31 (my age) and the mother of a beautiful 1 1/2 year old.

Things like this remind me of how lucky and blessed we all are...and how quickly life can be turned upside down in an instant. We should live each day with no regrets and try to remember to be thankful for all that we have rather than waste precious time wishing for things that aren't as we'd like.

Today we celebrated the holiday at Christa's parents house. I enjoyed getting to know C's mom during her wedding planning process and her dad is a really sweet guy. Dinner was delicious!

Today's blip is of me holding the baby in a sweater/bonnet set sent from my aunt. Other than for this photo, I barely got to hold her all night! Nina cuddled her to sleep- she's definitely ready to have a grandbaby. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.