Appreciate

By Appreciate

Jim Crow

This painted rock is an iconic part of my early childhood when we lived in Hunters Quay. I lived there from age 2 til I was 6. I recall walks with granny or mum plus one or other or all of my siblings (I have 3!) as we walked from Hunters Quay to Kirn , and always past Jim Crow.

Jim Crow sits between the two villages and as a tiddler, I remember getting very excited when I saw him. perhaps he was the landmark when we turned round and walked back - I don't know.

What I do now is that I don't have a bad memory of him and I do recall looking over to the Cloch Lighthouse as it flashed day and night at us.

Today, mum and I collected dad from his evening venture where he had had a great time, reminisced with friends, loved the fishing craic, had a very splendid dinner and
was very exhausted.

The weather on the outward journey was rough, but the sun came out, the wind dropped and we had a super sail home.

I hope that if I get to 90 I can be so marvellous. I really admire my dad and all that he does. Of course, he has a devoted wife right there for him all the time. I won't have that!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.