Authorized Mail Only

This is my mailbox, #704. What set's it apart from the others is the sign I stuck on the front. It basically reads "Please don't put pamphlets, advertisements or anything without an address printed on it in here." I had to be that specific because something along the lines of "No Unauthorized Mail" is not in the Japanese lexicon.

This cut down my junk mail by about 80%. There are still places who consistently ignore the request -- political flyers, moving companies and massage parlours, but overall it has worked wonders. We don't lose legitimate mail amid all the junk.

I wondered why no one else followed my lead. My wife explained. "Japanese dislike junk mail, but are reluctant to stop it in case they miss out on the odd coupon here or there."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.