The journey continues...

By Lbell

Let's make empanadas!

After getting up early I had a very unproductive morning. I'm going to blame it on the fact that the internet was totally unreliable all of today.
Anyway, before I knew it, it was time to leave for La Boca to learn how to make empanadas. Voluntario Global work directly with Los Pibes, a comunity centre in La Boca which helps support the local community by providing meals in return for their labour within a particular area of the centre. There are also English classes provided as well as boxing classes and a radio station.
Today we were in the bakery. As soon as we arrived we received the warmest welcome ever and the sense of community about the place was incredible. We were given a tour of the centre before getting down to baking.
It was really interesting watching how to make these argentine specialities, not to mention a lot of fun. They were the best that I have tasted so far and I can't wait to attempt to recreate them.
It was definitely worth every penny, I ate enough to last lunch and dinner and was even given a doggy bag! I definitely had one of the best days since I arrived.
On a sadder note I had to say bye to Lisa tonight as she leaves early tomorrow morning. It's really sad as she's been here since I arrived but now I have an excuse to go to Denmark :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.