Simply Me

By Suze981

World AIDS Day

Today was World AIDS Day. Tonight I went to a community gathering to remember those who have died and support those left behind or living with HIV. The evening was hosted by Waverley Care and featured Loud & Proud, a LGBT choir. Two of Hannah's (my good friend) friends are in the choir do we also went to support them.

I wrote my undergraduate dissertation on the media treatment of HIV/AIDS almost a decade ago and I always like to show my support by wearing the red ribbon. That was going to be my blip today, but I thought this, the backdrop for this evening was more fitting - to remember those that have gone.

This year is a special milestone in that it is also the 30th anniversary of the first diagnosed case in the UK.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.