Plus ça change...

By SooB

Cupboard Love

Mr B built a larder the other day, and now it is full of food. You'd think we were expecting a nuclear winter, but actually we'll be through all that pasta and Oatibix in no time. Top left is home made goods - with mincemeat (veggie and non) in the front to remind me to use it up. I'm not entirely sure two jars of Tom Yum paste are really necessary, but I should be grateful that it heralds a winter of Mr B's prawn and mushroom Thai soup.

Store cupboard filling aside, it was a day of painting, trip to the insurance office, and a long infuriating call with France Telecom. I had been wondering how French folk normally moved house - it didn't seem likely that, as I had been told two weeks ago, you always have to have a 15 day gap in service when you move house. Turns out from my conversation with today's extremely helpful lady, that Giles was talking nonsense. Now I have to buy my way out of the problem. Except that today's nice lady is helping out with that too. And has signed me up for a service that will give me free calls to the UK until we get our internet phone service back (in 15 days).

And Conor managed to recite the first two lines of his poem to his teacher. He is now a little closer to getting that iPod Touch he wants for Christmas (Katherine had to save up for hers, so Conor has to too. Only fair. Only £27 to go....)

Still no word from our landlord on what to do with the keys to our shiny clean rented house. (And more importantly no word on how we get our deposit back...) Tomorrow is a sort of day off. Hurrah. My aching muscles are very grateful.

After a night in Castres with our friends, Sunday will definitely be a day off...

PS: Mayonnaise. I know. Coals to Newcastle and all that. But it is rather tasty mayo, and the local stuff has too much mustard in for Katherine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.