Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

Once a jolly swagman

Himself returned from the States today.
Longing for a nice cup of tea (as you do after being away).

He was tired.

However, I had been experiencing my own small trauma..
(I don't make it up, I swear).
In the early hours, the house alarm went off owing to a power cut.
This is a somewhat startling event at the best of times.

The loud beep was almost unbearable and what's more, un turn-off able.
After an hour and a half of bleeding ears (!) the battery died and there was blissful silence.
Which lasted for 30 seconds and then the outside box took over and woke the neighbourhood.

With a scrambled brain I was seeking the torches (which Himself is meticulous about leaving beside beds). Finding them was one thing, winding them up (for he is a green bunny) was another matter in the pitch dark.
And I won't bore you with the difficulties of trying to write a mobile number (Security Firm) down in the dark whilst experiencing brain rattle from the noise. Or trying to remember security details. Like my name.

So, on his jet-lagged return we unearthed his dear old Dad's camping stove and made a cuppa on the patio!

It only took 35 minutes to boil!

Power wasn't back until lunch time.
The freezer is a concern for another day. :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.